My degree isn't worth the debt!

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
Shill
Shill's picture
My degree isn't worth the debt!

http://money.cnn.com/galleries/2011/news/economy/1106/gallery.student_debt/?iid=Lead

Edited by admin on 11/08/2014 - 05:06

And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers.

agauinvest
agauinvest's picture
Hat Tips: 496
I know mine aren't

I look back and say "What was I thinking?"  Finally, 16 years after college, 13 years after law school and 11 years after MBA school, my debt is down to about 1 year's net income.  Just insane.

pourty
pourty's picture
Hat Tips: 2678
Bad Parenting

This is what happens when parents dont' teach their kids sound economics before they leave home.

I had the same problem, fortunately, I went into a field where I made a lot of money and was able to climb out of debt.  It wasn't entirely luck, I picked a field knowing it was growing and going to be lucrative, but I had no idea of sound economics at the time.

My kids will learn from my mistakes.  I talk with them regularly about the evils of debt and how to handle money, and I go through my budget and investing principles with them.  I wish my parents had done this with me, I was clueless when I graduated college and had to learn it all the hard way.

agauinvest
agauinvest's picture
Hat Tips: 496
re:bad parenting

Just to theorize here - a "mistake" one generation may be the smartest possible move for the next generation (and, unfortunately the reverse).  Parents to my generation experienced that getting into professional fields would overcome any student loan burden they could have taken on in order to do so.  For my generation, that is not the case.