Feature Request: Add code to html links in forums so that any URL that is posted lauches in a new tab/window instead of current

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 Fri, Jun 24, 2011 - 11:16am
lilbromarky1
Offline
Joined: Jun 15, 2011
292
2464

Feature Request: Add code to html links in forums so that any URL that is posted lauches in a new tab/window instead of current

Feature Request: Add code to html links in forums so that any URL that is posted lauches in a new tab/window instead of current window

Example, if you visit this page in the forum, and go to this Keltec rifle link, you'll lose the TFmetals page and have to use the back button to get back to it. Not a big deal but it is something that could make the forums more user friendly.

My IE settings are already configured to not reuse windows when launching links. The TFmetals forum is the only forum I visit on the web that exhibits this behavior

Fri, Jun 24, 2011 - 11:18am
uptofreedom
Offline
-
NH
Joined: Jun 14, 2011
130
561

I middle-click links out of

I middle-click links out of habit. Tells firefox to open a new tab regardless of what the links target is...

Fri, Jun 24, 2011 - 11:53am
lilbromarky1
Offline
Joined: Jun 15, 2011
292
2464

testing: www.google.com  

testing: www.google.com

Like my ideas? Check our blog at: http://backtobasicseconomics.blogspot.com/
Fri, Jun 24, 2011 - 11:53am
lilbromarky1
Offline
Joined: Jun 15, 2011
292
2464

Test failed.  Google did not

Test failed. Google did not launch in external window

Like my ideas? Check our blog at: http://backtobasicseconomics.blogspot.com/
Fri, Jun 24, 2011 - 12:00pm (Reply to #4)
uptofreedom
Offline
-
NH
Joined: Jun 14, 2011
130
561

You using firefox?  If so,

You using firefox? If so, open a new tab, type "about:config" in the location bar, put "middle" in the filter field and make sure that browser.tabs.opentabfor.middleclick is set to "true".

Fri, Jun 24, 2011 - 12:05pm
speconomist
Offline
-
Spain
Joined: Jun 14, 2011
194
1809

Ctrl + click on the link, I

Ctrl + click on the link, I always do it by default and avoids me feeling the uncertainty of whether or not it will open in a new tab or the same.

Mike MALOney hater. Gingers DON'T have souls!
Fri, Jun 24, 2011 - 12:15pm
lilbromarky1
Offline
Joined: Jun 15, 2011
292
2464

Thank you for the work

Thank you for the work around. There is however a way to do this.

We need to include the Target Attribute:

https://www.w3schools.com/html/html_links.asp

<a href="https://www.tfmetalsreport.com/www.google.com" target="_blank">www.google.com</a>

Like my ideas? Check our blog at: http://backtobasicseconomics.blogspot.com/
Fri, Jun 24, 2011 - 2:40pm (Reply to #7)
Offline
Joined: Sep 23, 2018
765
3241

lilbromarky1 wrote: Thank you

lilbromarky1 wrote:

Thank you for the work around. There is however a way to do this.

We need to include the Target Attribute:

Yes, we know what a target attribute is. ;-)

I believe this is the same request as mentioned in this thread: https://www.tfmetalsreport.com/forum/863/links-posts

Thanks.

Fri, Jun 24, 2011 - 4:13pm
Offline
-
Nowhere, AK
Joined: Apr 21, 2011
960
9983

Default vs. optional

We could set links to click out to a new window by default, but then people who have slower computers or dial-up may complain.

I'll also add personally...now that I'm using a tablet I prefer not having new windows opened by default on clicking....there are no "tabs" or "windows" except that you now have a second page running in memory, and on my device I have to manually go into the menu to shut off all the extra pages that have been left "open" when sites force a new window on click.

We'll keep the suggestion in mind though - just know there are pros and cons to everything.

At any rate, here's how you can open up a link in a new window:

On Windows and Linux, right-click on a link to open it up in a new tab or new window.

On Mac, I believe you can Option-Click for the same purpose. 

Fri, Jun 24, 2011 - 5:20pm (Reply to #8)
lilbromarky1
Offline
Joined: Jun 15, 2011
292
2464

admin wrote:Yes, we know

admin wrote:

Yes, we know what a target attribute is. ;-)

I'm sorry didnt mean to insult your web prowess :)

Stephanie?

Like my ideas? Check our blog at: http://backtobasicseconomics.blogspot.com/
Fri, Jun 24, 2011 - 7:13pm (Reply to #10)
Offline
-
Nowhere, AK
Joined: Apr 21, 2011
960
9983

Admin....

That was not me posting as admin. While I sometimes man the admin account and have posted as admin, the account is used by more than one person. :-)

Fri, Jun 24, 2011 - 10:23pm (Reply to #11)
lilbromarky1
Offline
Joined: Jun 15, 2011
292
2464

stephanie wrote: That was not

stephanie wrote:

That was not me posting as admin. While I sometimes man the admin account and have posted as admin, the account is used by more than one person. :-)

Well that's cool except I may have just smiley faced some random guy by accident. Not cool. ;)

Like my ideas? Check our blog at: http://backtobasicseconomics.blogspot.com/
Sat, Jun 25, 2011 - 1:18pm (Reply to #12)
Offline
-
Nowhere, AK
Joined: Apr 21, 2011
960
9983

LOL

lilbromarky1 wrote:

Well that's cool except I may have just smiley faced some random guy by accident. Not cool. ;)

Hahaha...yes, you did just smiley face a random guy. LOL Funny. :-)

Become a gold member and subscribe to Turd's Vault

Contribute

Donate  Shop

The TFMR Silver Round
Best Price Online, Buy Gold and Silver Today!

Recent Comments

by Turd Ferguson, 6 min 12 sec ago
by Nana, 8 min 48 sec ago
by NW VIEW, 13 min 8 sec ago
by Maestro, 18 min 1 sec ago
by AgstAger, 22 min 38 sec ago
randomness