Practical aspect of 1000 Oz bars

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 Mon, Jul 27, 2020 - 10:23pm
KG

Practical aspect of 1000 Oz bars

Newbie here: I am considering a 1,000 Oz bar from a local, long-time, reputable source that is recommended by other silver holders I know. The price appears to be reasonable, much lower than 10x the 100 Oz bar rate.

What are the practical considerations of holding such a bar? Other than the simple size and storage issues, what should I consider as obstacles to redeem/trade/resale such a bar in the future? Is the market solely resale/trade back at the retail level? I see some websites offer purchasing: do you all have good/bad experiences? Are there other avenues direct to (smaller) financial institutions that may seek some physical holdings in the future? What should I expect from a prospective buyer at the time of resale? Will they test the bar to establish purity, etc?

I started silver in 2015 and presently have a nice little inventory, but no "big bar."

Tue, Jul 28, 2020 - 3:36pm
Island Teal
-
Cayman Islands

WEIGHT

having moved a few pounds around in my life a 64lb bar is real DEAD WEIGHT.

I would think twice about it and also just handling it.

Tue, Jul 28, 2020 - 5:26pm
Pemaquid
-
Loris, SC

1000 oz bar

I asked the same question in another forum and didn't get an answer. I think Texas Sandman just took delivery directly from Comex on a 1000 oz bar. I am sure trying to sell this beast isn't an easy thing to do. I think if you chose to sell you my have to drive the thing to a big dealer. Would love more info as well.

Wed, Jul 29, 2020 - 1:51am
Titus Andronicus

1000 oz bar

Probably, you'll regret it.

The only exception I can think of is when there is a drastic drop in silver and the physical is almost impossible to buy. Then you can buy on the Comex and take delivery or wait for the premiums to disappear.