experience with www.CoinInvestDirect.com

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
golddigger
golddigger's picture
experience with www.CoinInvestDirect.com

Dear all,

I'm new to the business and I found a couple of dealers in the UK.

e.g. CoinInvestDirect.com

they offer a huge range of gold coins and I just want to now which coins you recommend.

Is there anything I have to check before I buy?

I heard of something like capital gains tax but I am not informed very well, maybe you can help !?

Bests

golddigger

Edited by admin on 11/08/2014 - 06:30
giant catfish
giant catfish's picture
Hat Tips: 305
I've used them for both

I've used them for both silver and gold. Their head office is in the UK, and are a UK registered company, but the actual PMs are all stored in Germany. This makes things interesting. Hence whilst you may pay in GBP via bank transfer to their UK bank account, the coins / bars will be shipped to you from Germany.

Gold is therefore no problem, since EU and UK tax law is harmonised on gold - no VAT. Capital gains tax is only payable when you realise the gain AFAIK. There is a KYC requirement for purchases of gold either over £5k in a single transaction, or if you buy more than £10k worth of gold over 12 months. In these cases, CoinInvestDirect will have to ask you for certified proof of identity and address, and hold this on file for when HMRC go on fishing expeditions. They claim that they don't actively send this information to HMRC, and only provide on request due to the new law - however the head office is in London, and they're one of the biggest online PM suppliers *to* the UK. You'd have to trust them on this. Personally, I would, but I don't have that sort of money to spend on gold.

It appears that this £5k limit doesn't apply to silver. However, you pay VAT on silver... and 20% VAT when you order online for delivery to the UK makes silver investment brave unless you buy on behalf of a company and claim the VAT back somehow...