BUYING RURAL LAND / MOVING TO THE COUNTRY

75 posts / 0 new
Last post
Katie Rose
Katie Rose's picture
Hat Tips: 12457
BUYING RURAL LAND / MOVING TO THE COUNTRY

I have wanted to start a thread on rural land and living for quite some time. My profession is real estate and I sold my first home on January 2, 1979. I've lived through a few real estate booms and busts, but have never seen the US in such precarious straits as it is today.

One plus one does equal two. One is the US is broke with our means of production and our industrial knowledge given to a Communist nation which does not wish us well. The other one is we have become a lawless nation, with the rot starting at the top and filtering down to all levels of society. For me that one plus one means that unemployed, hungry, lawless folks will eventually make city living extremely dangerous, especially when Food Stamps, rent subsidies, etc are reduced or ended entirely. I do not want to be in the city when that occurs. That is why I live in rural NE WA State.

There is a saying among real estate professionals. "It is very easy to buy raw, rural land, and nearly impossible to sell it." Anyone wanting to buy raw land needs to be extremely careful. I do not recommend it. There are simply too many government employees desperate to keep their jobs that will make life HELL for anyone wanting to put in a road, drill a well, bring in power and build. Most rural counties are in great financial stress and have come up with many new rules, regulations, and permits for anyone so bold as to want to develop raw land.