What Bullion to buy?-question for the pro stackers.

43 posts / 0 new
Last post
SILVERHUNTER
SILVERHUNTER's picture
Hat Tips: 6
What Bullion to buy?-question for the pro stackers.

I'm a novice buyer and have a question for the pro's. What bullion do you recommend and why? There are so many options out there it's really hard for a novice like myself to make a decision. I've mainly been buying from APMEX but started looking on PROVIDENT too based on suggestions from this site. Here are my questions:

-Should I buy bars or coins?

-New or used?

-Does brand name matter?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Edited by admin on 11/08/2014 - 06:08
SILVERHUNTER
SILVERHUNTER's picture
A few more specific

A few more specific questions...

-NTR VS. SILVERTOWNE 10oz. Bars, any preferance? 

-Is the current sale on APMEX 1oz. bars at $.99 over spot a great buy?

Thanks!

Brotha Bob
Brotha Bob's picture
Hat Tips: 800
I am no expert

I am no expert, but I look at the premium over spot and go for the cheapest. This limits rare numismatics coins, and special commemoratives. Those a fine for others, but my goal is to hold physical, and as much as I can.

I do hold in either gold or silver, bars, Buffalos, Eagles, Maples, and coins from other assorted countries; some are fractional, too. Some very nice coins indeed.

Any further purchases I make, I think will be in bar form, from an easily recognizable mint. Bars tend to have less of a premium, so I can stack more.

But, what do I know?

May God Help Us All

But, what do I know?

Brotha Bob
Brotha Bob's picture
$1 over spot

$1 over spot is a great buy, I was looking at that too.

Again, at this point, I want to stack as much as possible. So pay the least over spot as I can

But what do I know?

May God Help Us All

But, what do I know?

Daredevil73
Daredevil73's picture
Hat Tips: 43
New Stacker Here Too...

I don't really qualify for your request as a pro stacker but here are some of the concerns I've considered.