Gold and silver dealers

29 posts / 0 new
Last post
Fizz
Fizz's picture
Hat Tips: 3
Gold and silver dealers

I am relatively new to the physical PM market. I have used 2 dealers; California Numismatics and Colorado Gold. I have heard of APMEX but not used them. Any recommendations on reputable and ethical PM dealers?

Thanks

Edited by admin on 11/08/2014 - 06:13
KC
KC's picture
Hat Tips: 765
***BEWARE OF GAINESVILLE COINS***

***BEWARE OF GAINESVILLE COINS***

This is going to be long winded, but I have to vent.  On the 3rd of August, I received my $100 in face value quarters from Gainesville Coins.  I went through them with my daughter so I could teach her about the coinage before 1965 and get some real money in her hands.  Anyway, there was a 1968 Canadian Quarter in there by mistake.  It was worth about $3.50.  I call up Gainesville on the 5th.  I want a complete set of $100 face value, not $99.75.  They promise a coin will be sent to me.  Two week later, I order another $100 in face value and I get the order yesterday.  Still no missing quarter.

I call them up.  “It’s been three weeks and I don’t have my missing coin.”  On hold for a while.  They reply that I must send the Canadian Quarter back to them.  Once they receive it, they’ll send me my replacement.  Really?  I’m actually thinking that I don’t know where the Canadian Quarter  is.  I really don’t remember where I put it.  It’s not in the usual places where I would have placed it.  Did I leave it with the original bag of $100?  Hmmm.  It’s hidden in a deep dark place and now I have to go retrieve the bag, sort through it, and mail the coin back to them.  All for $3.50.  My time is way more valuable than that and I’ve already spent too much time on this.  I explain this to the Gainesville Rep.  Why are you hassling me for $3.50?  Why not try to keep a customer?  I can go on a PM website and tell my story and cost you $1000’s in business.