Silver bull call spreads

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Green Lantern
Green Lantern's picture
Hat Tips: 34215
Silver bull call spreads

Hello,

I am a newbie to purchasing pm options.   And to be honest, I've read some books sometime back but I still have a hard time at the basics.  And I need some advise related to my September and DEcember Silver bull call spreads.   The brokers are just too busy to sit and explain.   All my picks were from a very popular newsletter writer and his track record is very good.  And some were from my brokers newsletter.   I am going to switch brokers to work with the person that supports this newsletters picks.

I have the following

Silver September 47-48

Silver September 80-86 (yes, I know)

I had purchased 4 December 49-50's

I then purchased 4 December 50-51

Then they became 8 December 49-51's.  My broker told me after the fact that you can't go long and short. 

Ok, September TOAST.  Everything expires 8/25.  Back in April or May when Silver was off the map and everyone was euphoric a newsletter writer suggested the 80-86 only as a long shot and not to bet the bank.  I didn't and only bought one.   I don't mind losing playing a long shot and there's nothing I can do. 

Two weeks ago my broker called me up and said we can roll the September 47-48's to December cheaply.  He put in the bid but it never filled.  Now it's really expensive like 1500 or something.  What I didn't know is that the 47's/48's are almost worthless and you can't really sell them because nobody is gonna buy.  That's basically what he told me or how I understand it. 

Ok, so I lose but I don't want to make the same mistakes for my December and wait too long that they become worthless if the options never go in the money.   Like everyone I am optimistic that silver will reach 50 by years end but I am not willing to bet the bank.   I want to take some, if not all off the table soon.