.999, .925 or even .500??

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Gibboslv
Gibboslv's picture
Hat Tips: 56
.999, .925 or even .500??

Hi, I have been stacking .999 rounds and bars for the last year and have a bit now.  I was just wondering what peoples thoughts are on the .925 (pre 1920) and .500 (pre 1947) UK coins i have looked on the bay and you pay less premiums on the <1920 and far less on the <1947.  I was wondering what peoples thoughts on reselling the .500 when the prices go much higher.  Will there be huge demand for .500 or will it be seen as real junk, as .500 is very very cheap per 1 oz pure silver quantity.

Edited by admin on 11/08/2014 - 06:09
silversalmon
silversalmon's picture
Hat Tips: 743
I'm no expert, but stick with

I'm no expert, but stick with the .999 stuff in my opinion. It's what the refiners want, and what the public wants. For example, in the 80's during the 50 dollar silver run up, refiners left a lot of 90% bag holders, literally holding thier bags. It's more cost efficient to refine the pure .999 stuff. Many refiners, wouldn't even accept the 40% silver or the war nickels, which are 35% silver, because of the higher refining costs. This is something to think about as oil prices continue rising. Just my humble opinion.

The only coin I would consider outside of .999 are the .925 silver Brittannias because they have a strong following. But I would would only buy them for fun, no expectations on numismatic value increasing over time.

other coins I would consider for fun are:

BU Ben Franklin Halfs (Nothing more than 100 face dollar bag)

Maybe some mercs

Peace dollars

That's about it, but not until i get my core position where I want it. .999 is the way to go! The price is only a bargain if you can liquidate it. Otherwise you're stuck trying to find a BIGGER sucker than you. Peace.

Gibboslv wrote: